Free Skins
© Fisana

Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

How Fast Can Your Computer Calculate


  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#31 Thunder

Thunder

    "At my signal, unleash hell."

  • Admin
  • 4,356 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Houston, TX

Posted 14 May 2008 - 10:45 AM

My new computer does it in 12 seconds lmfao. Woot!

Updated download link:
http://files1.extrem...ks/super_pi.zip

Disclaimer: The views expressed in the above text are mine and do
not necessarily reflect the views of my anyone else.
All postings are provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confer no rights.

 


#32 Ricers Blow

Ricers Blow
  • VIP Member
  • 2,353 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Parrish, FL

Posted 14 May 2008 - 01:12 PM

with a dell vostro 200 (i dont remember the specs) it took 23 seconds! not bad for a $550 work computer smile.gif


...it has 2.33 ghz and 2 gigs of ram with an intel core duo2 e6550

Edited by Ricers Blow, 14 May 2008 - 01:14 PM.

IPB Image

"im so gonna try that when i die with harlan on the bottom"
- Luke

#33 Jeremiah

Jeremiah

    The Great Cornholio

  • Moderator
  • 6,201 posts
  • Location:Baton Rouge, LA

Posted 14 May 2008 - 01:19 PM

This laptop is a Gatway Centrino Duo 2.0, 2 gigs of ram. I have several programs running and did 21 seconds.

2005 CTS-V, LS6, M6 - 236/242 .615/.615 Thunder Racing cam, valvetrain crap, longtubes, etc
Posted Image

#34 Thunder

Thunder

    "At my signal, unleash hell."

  • Admin
  • 4,356 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Houston, TX

Posted 14 May 2008 - 02:35 PM

QUOTE (Ricers Blow @ May 14 2008, 01:12 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
with a dell vostro 200 (i dont remember the specs) it took 23 seconds! not bad for a $550 work computer smile.gif


...it has 2.33 ghz and 2 gigs of ram with an intel core duo2 e6550

Yours should be faster than Jerimiahs. Your both Core 2 and youve got the higher clock speed lol.

Intel is tearing AMD up right, Core 2 and Quad is just destroying the competition.
I like how the original post was in 2005 and I wrote "Im just curious how normal PCs stack up, I have seen the numbers on the overclockers forums, and they push like over 4ghz out of there 3ghz procs and hit sub 30s." Moores law in full effect.

I paid like $200 for the processor, ~$100 for the mobo, ~$50 on memory, and ~$100 on graphics card. In 2005 I paid the for the P4 setup

Disclaimer: The views expressed in the above text are mine and do
not necessarily reflect the views of my anyone else.
All postings are provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confer no rights.

 


#35 Ricers Blow

Ricers Blow
  • VIP Member
  • 2,353 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Parrish, FL

Posted 14 May 2008 - 06:44 PM

does it matter that i was running like 5 apps other than what usually runs? im not complaining anyways, we paid hardly anything for it and all i use it for is music and the internet.

IPB Image

"im so gonna try that when i die with harlan on the bottom"
- Luke

#36 Sean

Sean

    Site Owner

  • Admin
  • 9,087 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky

Posted 14 May 2008 - 07:16 PM

My old ass computer did it in 43 seconds i think.

dual core 3.0 ghz with 4gb ram.

2004 Nissan 350Z Roadster Enthusiast
Posted Image

#37 Jeremiah

Jeremiah

    The Great Cornholio

  • Moderator
  • 6,201 posts
  • Location:Baton Rouge, LA

Posted 14 May 2008 - 09:32 PM

QUOTE (Thunder @ May 14 2008, 02:35 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Yours should be faster than Jerimiahs. Your both Core 2 and youve got the higher clock speed lol.

I was thinking the same thing. I had a bunch of things open too. I closed a few things and it made a 20 later. If I shut down sql service and some other services I have running, I could probably get it a lot quicker.

2005 CTS-V, LS6, M6 - 236/242 .615/.615 Thunder Racing cam, valvetrain crap, longtubes, etc
Posted Image

#38 Thunder

Thunder

    "At my signal, unleash hell."

  • Admin
  • 4,356 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Houston, TX

Posted 07 June 2009 - 06:15 PM

12 seconds in Windows 7 with a Core 2 3.0Ghz running ar 3.6Ghz and 6GB Ram so no change with more ram and Windows 7 as the OS. I may tighten up the memory timings a bit and try again.

Disclaimer: The views expressed in the above text are mine and do
not necessarily reflect the views of my anyone else.
All postings are provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confer no rights.

 


#39 Jeremiah

Jeremiah

    The Great Cornholio

  • Moderator
  • 6,201 posts
  • Location:Baton Rouge, LA

Posted 14 June 2009 - 09:44 PM

I've got a monster machine at work that I will test this on tomrrow. My laptop (the one mentioned a few posts above) was taking a week to run a job that was finding patterns in 50 million records of data for a client. I moved that job over to this monster desktop and it took less than an hour. I'd love to see what it can do with this.

2005 CTS-V, LS6, M6 - 236/242 .615/.615 Thunder Racing cam, valvetrain crap, longtubes, etc
Posted Image

#40 Thunder

Thunder

    "At my signal, unleash hell."

  • Admin
  • 4,356 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Houston, TX

Posted 25 August 2013 - 08:09 PM

So I was looking through this, as I am getting ready to upgrade this PC completely, and I just redid the calculation, nothing has changed on the PC, and it now runs SuperPi to 1 million digits in 16  seconds.... So I lost 4 seconds over the years lol. I cant believe I last upgraded this PC in 2008. I will report back with the new results at the end of the week! Though I think we are probably nearing the point of diminishing returns lol.

 

Does anyone have an i7 or one of the new AMD 8 core monsters? 


Disclaimer: The views expressed in the above text are mine and do
not necessarily reflect the views of my anyone else.
All postings are provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confer no rights.

 


#41 Sean

Sean

    Site Owner

  • Admin
  • 9,087 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky

Posted 27 August 2013 - 11:35 AM

I have an i5 on my mac book pro and 8 gb of ram and love it. But with different operating systems, i don't know if the OS is just faster, or if the processor is the difference maker between this cpu and my core 2 quad at home. I would imagine the i7 is the better cpu to go with. Throw 16GB of ram in it and call it a day.


2004 Nissan 350Z Roadster Enthusiast
Posted Image

#42 RoAdRaGe912

RoAdRaGe912

    Fat n Sassy

  • Moderator
  • 2,492 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:TX

Posted 27 August 2013 - 02:50 PM

My desktop has a first gen i7, the 870.  I overclocked it for a little while, but the RAM prevents me from getting a decent cooler in there.

 

My laptop has a second gen i7.  I might check all this out if I get some time (I was checking my e-mail and happened to click on the site not expecting any posts).



#43 RoAdRaGe912

RoAdRaGe912

    Fat n Sassy

  • Moderator
  • 2,492 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:TX

Posted 30 August 2013 - 09:00 PM

Well, my stock clock 2.93 GHz i7 870 on SuperPi (1 processor only) calculated to 1M in 14.2 seconds.  Overall CPU usuage only goes to about 12%.

 

I checked out HyperPi because it mentioned multiple threads.  After downloading, I see that it doesn't spread out the calculation, but rather will repeat an additional calculation on however many processors that you specify.  Maybe it's to show if there's an issue with a core?  If I only select 1 processor then it comes back the same, 14.3 seconds.  When I pick 4, it takes about 19 seconds and when I pick 8 (4 virtual) it takes 22 seconds.



#44 Thunder

Thunder

    "At my signal, unleash hell."

  • Admin
  • 4,356 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Houston, TX

Posted 15 February 2016 - 10:05 PM

9.2 in SuperPi, 9.6 seconds in HyperPi on an i7-3770K @ 3.50 ghz (not OC)

 

I just tried HyperPi  with all cores and it goes up to 17 seconds.

 

I bought this processor in August of 2013. I'm curious to see what the new processors do it in, or if we have reached the point of diminishing returns.


Disclaimer: The views expressed in the above text are mine and do
not necessarily reflect the views of my anyone else.
All postings are provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confer no rights.

 


#45 Sean

Sean

    Site Owner

  • Admin
  • 9,087 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky

Posted 18 February 2016 - 08:29 PM

I just ran it on my home video editing machine with 12GB of ram and intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.20ghz 4 cores. 

 

Attached File  Capture.PNG   38.98K   4 downloads


2004 Nissan 350Z Roadster Enthusiast
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users